Reviews

Featured in

Media Reviews

You can download the article at:

https://www.straitstimes.com/life/travel/from-holiday-home-to-hotel-doctor-gives-back-to-community-with-villa-in-rural-north-bali

Due to copyright reasons, we are unable to reproduce the entire article here. However, we can provide a review of the article as follows:

“From holiday home to hotel: Doctor gives back to the community with a villa in rural north Bali”

This article by journalist Clara Lock was published on 29 August 2023 as a front page feature on Straits Times Life, wrapping around to half of the next page as well. This feature came about because a guest of Alta Vista Bali was so pleased with her stay at Alta Vista and so amazed at the property that she tipped off Ms Lock about it. It happened that Ms Lock was on the prowl for stories of Singaporeans who had built interesting properties overseas, with good stories to tell about their developments, and how they came by it.

Ms Lock contacted Dr Tan and did a 2-hour interview with him, realizing that there was indeed a compelling human interest story to share with her readers.

The article begins with why Dr Tan eschewed the usual hotspots of Bali in the south of the island to conceive of a property in the cool Munduk Mountains of north Bali. But building a villa to escape the frenetic busyness of the south came with challenges. Initially, realtors he asked to look for land, as well as potential villa management agencies turned him away, as the location was too remote for them. He persisted because he loved the pristine and beautiful ambiance of the northern mountains and eventually acquired a perfect piece of land at a cool altitude and where there were the most beautiful villages, the friendliest folk, gorgeous lakes and waterfalls, and cottage industries such as coffee, clove, flower and fruit farms.

It was another challenge finding a designer who knew how to use the 52 Are land with a view down the mountainside to the northern coast. Eventually, Alta Vista became a 5 bedroom villa, with each bedroom a separate unit in the expansive gardens, in a concept that combined Balinese touches with modern architecture, of a standard that was comparable to five-star luxury resorts.

It was also an ongoing process to balance the quality of hospitality appropriate to such a high-end villa, with maintaining its connection with its surrounding environment and community. For example, the villa serves mainly Balinese coffee grown by its neighbours. Its staff are also from the village of Wanagiri where the villa is situated, as well as from nearby towns. Dr Tan’s emphasis is on building relationships, trusting people, being a good neighbour and having them trust him. The families around Alta Vista have become very much part of a wider family centred on the villa. More than a holiday home, the villa sets a benchmark for how properties can belong to and contribute to the local community.

This article by Ms Lock is superbly written in how it brilliantly and sensitively captures all the nuances and human interest angles that Dr Tan wanted to share with her readers. It is written as a lovely and warm narrative, so appropriate to the actual warmth and hospitality that is very much part of Alta Vista Bali.

Epic mountain views, stunning natural designs and luxurious villas up high – here are just 5 reasons why we LOVE Alta Vista Bali…

Download Article

Epic mountain views, stunning natural designs and luxurious villas up high – here are just 5 reasons why we LOVE Alta Vista Bali…

Download Article

Guest Reviews

A TripAdvisor Reivew: Memorable Moments At A Magical Mountain Resort!

A beautiful boutique resort tucked away in the mountains of north Bali, Alta Vista was home to us as we celebrated our honeymoon and first Valentine’s as man and wife. Thoroughly pampered by the host team ably led by Pak Suri, we enjoyed gorgeous mountain views and glorious sunsets, all the while being cocooned by lush verdant foliage giving us the privacy we needed and the natural beauty we relished. Meals were prepared by Chef Made who excelled not only in his Balinese cuisine offerings but also nourishing breakfasts. The airport transfers and day tours led by knowledgeable guide & driver Pak Mardy were also a memorable highlight of our time in the northern Balinese mountains. Climate was a cool 18-21 degrees in the mornings rising to a comfortable 24 degrees in the daytime. We departed feeling refreshed, rejuvenated and recharged after what must be one of our best short vacations in Bali.

K&ML

Singapore
February 2024

A Lovely Stay!

Wow !! Absolutely stunning views and beautiful villas. We loved the heated pool, the fire pit and the staff and management were fantastic. It was such a peaceful and relaxing staff. Only a short drive away from some great waterfalls. We felt the standard of the food didn’t quite match the quality of the rest of villa. Overall we loved our stay and didn’t want to leave , we would highly recommend

KC

January 2024

Most Pleasant & Memorable!!

Thank you for ensuring that our holiday at your villa was a most pleasant and memorable one. It has been a distinct pleasure to make your acquaintance and please contact us should you or your staff visit Singapore. God bless you!

KML
Singapore
February 2024

All My Senses Are Alive Here!

Dear Suri and all staff, we had a most relaxing and rejuvenating time at Alta Vista. Thank you for making the visit to north Bali so magical. We are so grateful for your warm hospitality and care during our wonderful stay at Alta Vista. R said, “All my senses are alive here.” Thank you for everything! We look forward to the next visit. Warmly,

SG & RS
Singapore (American)
February 2024

A Lovely Stay!

Dear Suri and staff, thank you for a lovely stay! We would love to come back and visit! Very grateful for your hospitality and beautiful stay!

M&N
Singapore
January 2024

Such A Memorable And Chill Vacation!

Thank you for making our stay such a memorable and chill vacation from the moment we stepped into the villa! Warm staff, beautiful, landscape, lighting, the pool, the evening bonfire, were Perfecto!

AAR
Singapore
February 2024
 

Experience The Real Bali!

I stayed here for two nights (one solo) and one with my friend and it was one of the most RELAXING stays I’ve had in Bali. The property is set in the mountain with beautiful ocean views and an oasis of a garden, we had villa 5 and everything was perfect with super comfy beds, a huge bathroom and big balcony to sit on. The staff were so kind and friendly (shoutout to Dewi) and it’s located fantastically – there are so many waterfalls, temples, lakes, viewpoints etc close. A must stay if you wanted to experience the real bali!

HM
United Kingdom
January 2024

Perfect Place To Unwind!

Thank you very much for this lovely stay Alta Vista was the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful views of north Bali. We had the loveliest time and can’t wait to be back!

H&D
United Kingdom
January 2024

Thoughtful Hospitality!

Dear Suri and all the wonderful staff of Alta Vista, thank you for your thoughtful hospitality and care these past few days! We had a great time exploring Bali and look forward to returning!

I&R
Singapore
January 2024

A Hidden Gem On The Mountain Top!

Thank you for your attentive and caring service. A hidden gem on the mountain top, perfect to recharge in a tranquil environment, with good accommodation, and a great view from the heated pool. We are glad to have discovered this peaceful part of Bali. All the best!

G&M
United Kingdom
December 2023

We Truly Enjoyed This Stay!

Thank you for taking care of our family, cooking delicious food and making our New Year very special. E will miss his new friends for sure! We truly enjoyed this stay. Who knows, maybe we will come back next year!

L Family
Malta
January 2024

A TripAdvisor Review: Beautiful And Quiet Resort In A Great Location!

We had a lovely stay at AltaVista. The location could not be better. It’s located not too far off the main road so it’s easy to find but super quiet and private. It’s really close to many of the waterfalls in the area and after spending long days visiting them, the heated pool and jacuzzi were just what we needed. The villas themselves are spacious and very comfortable (pillows were like sleeping on a cloud!). Definitely recommend for anyone visiting Munduk/North Bali.

SP

November 2023

Beautiful & Breathtaking!

Thank you for the wonderful. hospitality, beautiful views and delicious lunch. Alta Vista is cooling and has delicious food. The view is beautiful and breathtaking, The people here are very friendly and kind. We will be back again for sure!

LP & Family
Singapore
November 2023

Absolutely Memorable!

We are extremely grateful to the wonderful staff at AV, to make our (albeit short) stay absolutely memorable. Munduk is without doubt the most beautiful part of Bali, but it is really the warmth of the staff, and the upkeep of the villa, that elevated our experience here to a different level. Thanks again and we will be back!

MKATS
India
December 2023

It Is Stunning!

This was our 2nd trip to Alta Vista and it again did not disappoint! We love the peaceful location and wonderful views above the clouds. The villas are beautiful and the staff are extremely attentive and kind. The chef creates some super delicious meals as well. But the highlight of all might just be the jungle feel of the landscaping. It is stunning and just adds to the serenity of this place. Highly recommended!

B&LK

USA
November 2023

Beautiful Spot In The North Of Bali!

A beautiful spot in the north of Bali! We spent two wonderful nights here. The location is unbeatable.. close to many waterfalls in the area. The heated pool and jacuzzi are perfect for relaxing after a long day of hiking and they also have a beautiful fire every single night. The villas are bright and spacious and the pillows make it feel as if you’re sleeping on top of a cloud! Definitely recommend to anyone planning a visit to Munduk!

SP

November 2023

The Most Relaxing Retreat!

Alta Vista has been a second home to us for the past week. We have been well taken care of by everyone. Wonderful people and beautiful weather made this place as the most relaxing retreat for us. Thank you to Suri and his team!

TC
Singapore
November 2023
 

A Charming, Relaxing Vibe!

We had a beautiful stay at Alta Vista. Gorgeous views and a charming, relaxing vibe. Everyone was so kind and. made our trip unforgettable! The location is perfect for visiting the many waterfalls this area is known for. We will definitely be back!

R&S
Portugal
November 2023

Amazing, Amazing Villa!

Amazing amazing villa! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here – everything from the kind hospitality to the decor and cleanliness. Special mention to the villa manager, Mr Pak Suri. Amazing spot in Northern Bali with incredible weather and sunset views. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful retreat in Bali. Definitely a great location for big family gatherings 👍🏻

Will come again!

SB

October 2023
 

Very Pleasant Place With A Beautiful View!

Alta Vista is a very pleasant place with a beautiful view. In the evening we can see the city of Singaraja. The service staff were friendly. We are very happy to stay at Alta Vista even for one night, but it was very pleasant.

H&I
Indonesia
October 2023
 

The Stay Here Is Amazing!

The stay here is amazing! The villa is super comfortable, quiet, perfect to rest. Thank you so much!

I&N
United Kingdom
October 2023

Lovely And Relaxing!

Lovely and relaxing 5 days stay. Loved the villa and the heated pool. Gorgeous view. Traditional Balinese massage was amazing and a huge Thank You to Pak Suri and his team!

L&L
Singpore
October 2023
 

Great Way To Spend It With Friends!

What a view and relaxing place to be in. Great way to spend it with friends! Pak Suri and team were very helpful and accommodating!

H&G
Singapore
October 2023

Loved The Villas!

Loved the villas. Amazing view and Pak Suri and his team of staff were excellent. Makanan enak! See you again!

DB

Singpore (British)
October 2023
 

Incredibly Relaxing!

Fantastic 5 night stay. Loved the canyoning, fun cycling and amazing lunches at Ngiring Wedang. The villas and staff made the stay incredibly relaxing (try the Balinese massage). Thank you Pak Suri and team!

N&S
Singapore
October 2023

In One Word – Wow!

Alta Vista Villas is in one word – Wow! I have lived in Bali, having moved from Australia a little over a year ago and have enjoyed many staycations exploring the island. But without question, this place has been the best – beats the Viceroy, Four Seasons and so many more 5-star experiences! Thank you. We will be back!

SA
Bali (Australian)
October 2023
 

An Unforgettable Mountain Experience!

Wow! What a place! An unforgettable mountain experience. Thank you so much to Pak Suri and team for their terrific service.

I&RA
Singapore
October 2023

Perfect Setting To Recharge!

We had a wonderful time during our stay here. It was a perfect setting to recharge amongst the beautiful surroundings. Thank you for the above-and-beyond service. It was truly warm and amazing. Special mention to Deewi who made our stay extremely memorable with the welcome rose petal bath and her warmth. We’ll definitely be back!

M&B
Singapore
September 2023
 

A Great Place For Family Time!

We really enjoyed our stay. So calming and a great place for family time and friends. The food was really delicious especially the spring rolls. Truly an incredible time. Hope to be back soon. Thank you to the entire team!

K & Family
Indonesia
September 2023

 

Loved The Whole Atmosphere!

Thank you guys so much for this wonderful stay! We felt very welcomed and loved the whole atmosphere! See you soon! XX

A&R
Germany
September 2023
 

Your Property Is One Of A Kind!

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was super relaxing and the beds are the most comfortable beds we slept in. Thank you for the nice service. Your property is one of a kind!

SS&J
USA
September 2023

 

Worth The Trek Up The Mountain!

The journey to Alta Vista was longer than the plane ride! But it was worth the trek up the mountain. We saw the most beautiful sunset here and had a wonderful stay. The team had done a wonderful job of taking care of us. We loved the scrumptious food served and the roasted marshmallows after dinner. Thank you so much!

SY & Family
Singapore
September 2023
 

Dreamy Stay Here!

Thanks a lot for the kind attention and warm welcome received from the whole team. It was a very pleasant stay for us! Looking forward to coming for a second dreamy stay here. See you and the team!

M&G
France
September 2023

 

Paradise on Earth!

Alta Vista is the paradise on earth. the staff are very professional! It was a marvellous experience at Alta Vista. Thank you very much. See you soon! Terima Kasih!

Y&S
France
August 2023
 

One Of Our Favourite Places Ever!

Alta Vista is one of our favourite places ever! We have stayed here twice and each time here has made us feel like family. We love the beautiful villas and gorgeous gardens and pool. The food is amazing as well. Until we see you again!

Funemployed Family
United Kingdom
September 2023

 

So Many Memorable Moments!

Our time in Alta Vista has been so wonderful and a special Bali experience. From the moment we arrived we have felt so welcomed and taken care of that the five days have flown by. Truly appreciate the lengths the staff go to, to make us feel at home. Pak Suri has made sure everything has gone well. Dewi and colleagues, always attentive and pleasant, Bali service at its best! We enjoyed the heated pool very much, especially at sunset. Komang introduced Berutz to us where we had a great time listening to Elevator, such a talented band! So many memorable moments. We will be back! Many thanks!

BH & LC
Singapore
August 2023

 

Excellent In Every Way!

Our five night stay was excellent in every way, from attentive and informative service by Pak Suri, the delicious and hearty meals indulging our tastes and cravings, to the well appointed villas. All the outings guided by Komang were superb – satisfying the interests of our varied party – from produce markets to invigorating treks and scenic vistas. We will always remember the night of world class music by The Elevator, led by Angus Agung in Singaraja.

Best of all was/is the bracing cool temperature to be had no where else in Bali. The steaming pool was the perfect place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets of northern Bali. WE WILL BE BACK!!

EG & AF
Singapore
August 2023

 

What a Wonderful Stay We Have Had!

What a wonderful stay we have had! Five days of bliss, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff have been simply spectacular. From the ever present and attentive Pak Suri, who saw to it that everything ran in perfect order, to Dewi, who attended to all our food service, Chef Made, who ensured we had delicious meals everyday, to the housekeeping and security team. Everyone made us feel we were in our home away from home.

We also slept extremely well and ahd some wonderful experiences from the 2- hour trek, the hike to the twin waterfall and back, which was spectacular and exhausting, visits to the markets and memorably, a lovely night out at Berutz with Angus Agung and his band, Elevator! All in all, a superb stay and we look forward to coming back to enjoy North Bali!

OSM
Singapore
August 2023

 

A TripAdvisor Review: What An Incredible Place!

What an incredible place! As soon as we arrived, the tranquility of this location captivated us. We were warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink while we filled out the check-in papers.

The room is incredibly well designed, cozy and very spacious, with natural light coming in from everywhere. We were greatly impressed by the attention to detail! The pool with heated water and infinity edge, plus the sunset view, is basically a fairytale.
And if you get tired of the pool, there’s also the option of an amazing hot tub!

The food was always excellent! Probably the best Nasi Goreng we had during our stay in Indonesia. Internet connection everywhere without cutouts is always good!

The staff was always available and friendly, which added greatly to our stay! All the spaces were always very clean and tidy! In short, one of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed in, 100% recommended!

 
MS
Spain
August 2023
 
 

A TripAdvisor Review: Alta Vista Is The Aman Of North Bali!

The stay in Alta Vista was the mid-year break I needed to rejuvenate me for the rest of the year.

A hidden gem, private boutique property with amazing sunrise/ sunset views, beautiful landscaping, heated pool/ jacuzzi, attentive on-site staff and massages in-room (quality better than 5-star hotels I’ve been at). The fireplace lit in the main dining area each night really helped set the mood in the 18 degree Celsius weather at night.

The hospitality of the Balinese people was embodied by the staff headed by Pak Suri – he responded to us pre-trip very quickly, and curated an itinerary that met our needs. We stayed for 7 nights and each day was spent well – from trekking to see 3 waterfalls, to yoga in Ubud, to diving in West Bali, to visiting the UNESCO rice paddy fields, and of course Wanagiri hidden hills which was 5min from Alta Vista.

The food prepared by Chef Made was superb, and he even prepared things we requested off the menu. The on-site BBQ offered by the resort we had on the last night was the highlight of our stay. Dewi who was the main server was attentive without being intrusive, and her sincerity shone through.

Keep up the good work Alta Vista team! Thank you for your hospitality, heartfelt service, and making us feel like we are home away from home.

 
FiL
Singapore
July 2023
 
 

A TripAdvisor Review: An Amazing Experience in Munduk. What An Incredible Place!

As soon as we arrived, the tranquility of this location captivated us. We were warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink while we filled out the check-in papers.

The room is incredibly well designed, cozy and very spacious, with natural light coming in from everywhere. We were greatly impressed by the attention to detail!

The pool with heated water and infinity edge, plus the sunset view, is basically a fairytale.
And if you get tired of the pool, there’s also the option of an amazing hot tub!

The food was always excellent! Probably the best Nasi Goreng we had during our stay in Indonesia.

Internet connection everywhere without cutouts is always good!

The staff was always available and friendly, which added greatly to our stay!

All the spaces were always very clean and tidy!

In short, one of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed in, 100% recommended!
 

Miguel S

July 2023

 

You All Felt Like Family!

To my family at Alta Vista, Yes, you folks are so warm and caring that you all felt like family!

Thanks for such a wonderful and relaxing stay and enduring our countless “keropok” requests. And thanks for keeping the villa so well that we get to enjoy the best! 

Wishing you all well and hope we get to meet again!

OLL

Singapore
July 2023

 

Home Away From Home!

Dear Alta Vista staff, Thank you for the wonderful hospitality during the past week. It really feels like home away from home. The itinerary and massages planned by Pak Suri were fabulous! The food (including BBQ), masala tea and keropok were awesome!

Keep up the good work! I truly enjoyed my stay and the memories of this place!

SH
Singapore
July 2023

 

Everything Exceeded Our Expectations!

Dear Alta Vista Staff, Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. Everything exceeded our expectations – from the beautiful property, heated pool, superb food (the fireside BBQ was yummy!), to the attentive service of Pak Suri, Dewi, Chef Made

The itinerary planned by Pak Suri was great, and the massages (which we had daily) was even better than the ones at hotel spas!

This trip has exceeded all expectations. Though the weather was not that ideal, the comfortable property made it so much nicer to stay in.

Keep up the good work – it’s the small things that make the difference and a difference is what the team has achieved.

Thanks too for all the help and recommendations – loved the diving and the great service by Mardy our tour leader cum driver – his marsala tea is yum!

FL

Singapore
July 2023

A Google Review: Honestly Our Best Stay in Bali!

Honestly our best stay in Bali. If you look for privacy, serenity and calm atmosphere – Alta Vista is the best choice. Clean, spacious and luxury villas, infinity pool, heated jacuzzi are definitely all you need to spend amazing time ❤️ Also I need to say that all team was so kind and friendly! Staff is 1000/10 and I can only recommend it. Can’t wait to be back ✨

KW
Russia
June 2023

 

We Loved The Location Up In The Clouds!

We had such an incredible stay at Alta Vista Bali! We loved the location up in the clouds. It was so peaceful compared to other areas of the island. The staff was incredible and played with our daughter every day! The food was great, our room was so beautiful and the property was just perfect!

F Family
USA
June 2020

LOVED it!

We had  such a relaxing stay up in the mountains. Although a little chilly and misty, we still had a great time in the heated pool!

Food was amazing and staff service great. It felt like our own private resort with no one else booked in – LOVED it!

We will recommend it to friends and family and hope to stay again in the future!

D & G
Singapore
June 2023

 

This Is THE SPOT To Stay If You Are In The North!

Wonderful Alta Vista! Thank you  for such a wonderful two days. Suri was incredible and his entire staff amazing.

The property is so beautiful – peaceful and quiet. We love the roosters waking us in the morning and the stunning flowers. 

This is THE SPOT to stay if you in the North. Thank you so much for everything! We will miss you!

M Family
Los Angeles, California
June 2023

We Found Heaven At Alta Vista!

We found heaven at Alta Vista! The weather, the villa, the pool, the team here and the food were absolutely perfect! We had the entire villa just to ourselves and soaking in the heated pool took all my stress away.

The staff here are incredibly attentive I commented that the fire pit would be perfect for toasting marshmallows and the team bought marshmallows the next day!

The food! It was amazing, everything we ordered was delicious, better than anything we had in south Bali.

We loved the soothing playlist during all our meal times and had so much fun dancing.

I LOVE Alta Vista! I will be back!

M & V
Singapore
May 2023

 

We Will Remember This Experience For A Lifetime!

Dearest Alta Vista team, Thank you so much for the most perfect stay! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and can’t wait to come back again!

We really appreciate your warm hospitality and will remember this experience for a lifetime. Please take care and convey our well wishes and thanks to the thoughtful owners and our hosts! Till the next time,

A & R
Singapore
June 2023

 

A Very Relaxing Trip In The Mountains!

Dear Alta Vista, Thank you for your warm hospitality throughout our stay. It was a very relaxing trip in the mountains! Loved sitting in front of the campo fire at night! Best,

F & C
Singapore
March 2023

 

The Perfect Holiday!

Thank you, Suri, Dewi, Dewa and team for your wonderful hospitality throughout our stay! Despite the rainy weather, we really enjoyed our stay at Alta Vista! Best views in Wanagari! Hope to be back!

R & D
Singapore
May 2023

A TripAdvisor Review: A Mountain Sanctuary!

This was a mountain retreat of the very best
The ambience
The quality of the accommodation
The chef and his culinary prowess
The cheerful staff led by Suri and Dewi

It’s almost surreal to be in the heated infinity pool with the clouds swirling around us

Amazing

 
Euan M
Singapore
October 2022
 

A TripAdvisor Review: Gem Of A Mountain Retreat!

Secluded gem.of a mountain resort in North Bali.

I found this gem in the mountains during my visit in October 2022. Called Alta Vista she is a hidden gem and has all the luxury comforts, tranquility and an amazing beautiful outlook of the sea and the old capital of Bali, Singaraja and the whole of north Bali.

I stopped over with some scuba dive buddies for a three night stay in the hills to experience something different from the typical hectic Kuta scene . The rooms and landscape are faultlessly and meticulously kept and cleaned to perfection. the main facility of the millenum pool with the breath taking view of the sky and the sea amongst the clouds is truly unforgettable and will exceed any expectations. There are two beautiful lakes nearby and temples too. Mostly meant for a quiet retreat with your loved ones undisturbed and pandered to buy the courteous butlers and chef Made. We also arranged for the local Babi Guling which was a real treat. Alta Vista is worth a visit and stay and had left me with happy memories for a long time . Thank you.

 
Raymond W
Perth
October 2022

Amazing Stay!

Amazing stay! Perfect environment, beautiful gardens, lovely architecture, delicious meals, but most of all, great services and hosting that make for a holiday to remember! Had a lovely, lovely time!

ATKL
Singapore
October 2022

 

The Perfect Holiday!

We’ve had a wonderful week back at Alta Vista! Lovely to see everyone again. Thank you for making our stay the perfect holiday! Looking forward to when we can next come back again!

SD & Family
Singapore
October 2022

Bali Paradise In The Mountains!

Beautiful mountain resort in the sky. Amazing and breathtaking view of the sea and Singaraja from anywhere in the resort. Breathtaking views from each villa. Exquisite furnishings and interior decorations, tasteful choice of little details like furnishings, toiletries, bonfire, rattan chairs etc. Food is so local and Balinese, prepared with care and served with elegance and love by the in-house team. Thanks to Suri, Made, Dewi, Ayu and all the team for making our stay unforgettable!

There are endless things to see, experience, do and enjoy in the surroundings in Wanagiri Village. Everyone is so friendly. People live simply and happily. the mountain lakes and temples are uniquely Bali, so much cultural heritage to absorb. Quiet, tranquil and serene. Alta Vista is the most modern and finely designed & landscaped jewel in this mountainous landscape. Certainly a place worth returning to for a respite and to meet old friends and make new ones. 

RWCK
Perth
October 2022

A most enjoyable stay!

Dear Alta Vista team, I had a most enjoyable stay at Villa 2! The room was large and comfy and the bed is so comfortable that I overslept most mornings! The staff were friendly and attentive and really made me feel welcomed. I look forward to returning in the near future

HCW
Singapore
October 2022

 

A wonderful experience!

Dear Alta Vista Team, THANK YOU for a wonderful experience here at Alta Vista Bali!!! You made us feel so much at home, giving attention to every detail. Thank you, Chef Made for cooking up delicious meals and an extensive menu! Truly hope to return soon with my family!

EM
Singapore
October 2022

Long Life to Alta Vista!

Beautiful Hotel! Staff are very kind and caring. We will come back for sure one day. Long life to Alta Vista!

B Family
France
August 2022

We All Loved It!

Lovely stay and the team was fantastic! We all loved it and will be back. Thank you!

J & I, R & R
Dubai
August 2022

Lovely Stay!

Lovely stay and the team were fantastic! We all loved it and will be back.

Thank you!

J & Family
Dubai
August 2022

Fantastic Hotel & Staff!

Fantastic hotel and fantastic staff! Unforgettable views, especially from the treehouse and pool! We will definitely be coming back to Alta Vista!

D & SW
Russia
September 2022

Absolutely Amazing!

Absolutely amazing time at Alta Vista. Had so much fun with the crew. They also helped me learn more Bahasa. Can’t wait to return again. Thanks for everything! Suksma Banyak

C & Z
Australia
July 2022

We Can Only Say Good Things!

Me and my boyfriend stayed at AltaVista Bali for two nights and we absolutely loved it.

If you want a quiet place on top of the mountain with an amazing view over Lovina and more this is the place to be.

Starting from the staff we can only say good things, super welcoming and kind to us. We stayed at Arcadia villa which is incredible,beautiful and modern.

Also, don’t forget to try the food there! The chef cooks amazing.

R & R
Spain
June 2022

Amazing Stay!

Very beautiful villa, feels like a hotel all to yourself.

Amazing stay, Thank you!

I & Friends
Russia
July 2022

It Is Stunning!

So…It is STUNNING!

Amazing. Light. View. Space.

We’ll come back!

SLT
Russia
June 2022

Staff are legends!

We stayed a night with our kids. It’s stunning, comfortable and simply amazing. We enjoyed everything! Staff are legends!

YL
Russia
July 2022

An unforgettable stay!

Dear Alta Vista Family, once again, this stay was amazing! The food was delicious as always and the room and service were great! I’m so happy that I got to come back again and see all of you – it is always a pleasure. Also, the sunsets and views were breathtaking as always. Keep up the excellent work! Thank you for an unforgettable stay and hope to come back soon!

TT&Y
Luxembourg
June 2022

Amazing place!

Amazing place! Good for a family retreat and to recharge. This is a beautiful Villa and the team is wonderful, led by Pak Suri!

YKL & Family
Malaysia
May 2022

Quiet and cozy!

Friendly staff, always attentive! The place is quiet and cozy, and very well maintained. We didn’t get good sunny weather, unfortunately, but we enjoyed our stay here. Dewi and Pak Suri helped us a lot and they were very good serving us!

DT & Family
Medan, Indonesia
May 2022

A TripAdvisor Review: Healing and Happy Time!

I spent a few days at the lovely Alta Vista in villa Brava and was delighted from the first moment I started walking up the steps to the building. I am very sensitive to dust/dust mites and it makes it tough for me to stay in accommodations which are on the older side.
 
I know Alta Vista, along with every other resort in the world, had been closed for two years, but when I stepped into villa Brava – everything smelt and felt super fresh (just like the mountain air). I also loved the toiletries provided, again surprisingly no reaction to my sensitive skin. esp the bubble bath solution! I don’t have a bathtub at home and I likened the gorgeous tub (and entire toilet) to a mini spa.
 
I can’t really say which is the best spot in Alta Vista as every major feature from the pool, to the dining area to the tree house, are well designed, classy and tailored for one to enjoy the awesome view. I personally felt it was a spiritually healing space and had very good energy (for those who believe in the energy of spaces , if you don’t know what that means just watch a few eps of Marie Kondo on Netflix ;). I walked through all the villas and they all have views!
 
The staff are super friendly and seemed very happy to start welcoming visitors and we all had chats about how the pandemic has affected our lives and how grateful we are to be able to have this time in Alta Vista (for us as travellers and them as hospitality staff) I also got a walking tour to the nearby village (great cardio going uphill at the end of the tour!) I saw some lovely views and got to chat w some of the neighbouring residents (one invited us in for coffee!) My only critique, which is a gastronomical one 😉 is that for someone who is largely pescatarian, I would like to see more options for fish and veggies on the menu 🙂 but for what I had, was delicious! Am already planning a trip in August to come back. See you soon Alta Vista!
 

Curious512740
Singapore
April 2022

A Healing, Healthy and Happy Stay!

Alta Vista is nothing short of a healing and happy stay for me. There is something truly positive and spiritual about this Villa resort! The staff are amazing and the room cleanliness level is beyond superb for a highly allergic person like me who almost always has an allergic reaction to all places that are not my own home. A special shout out to the pool, which is oxygenated and heated and leaves you feeling as if you’ve swum in a fresh mountain spring water lake, and the bespoke villa toiletries are also wonderful and again my sensitive skin had zero reaction to all the products used. A particular fave of mine was the bubble bath formula which did not even cause any irritation to my eyes. So, to all allergic, slightly sensitive travellers who are looking for a healing, happy and healthy stay, please look no further than Alta Vista Bali Mountain Villa!

WLL
Singapore
April 2022

An Excellent Experience!

Thank you so much for making our 3 night stay an excellent experience for our first international travel during the Covid19 Pandemic. From the village walk led by (villa manager) Suri, we had a wonderful time feeding the hungry goats, discovering many fruit trees, clove trees and even a visit to one of the local homes. Be prepared to walk! We loved the view of the wonderful sunsets from the “treehouse” and dips in the heated jacuzzi and pool. We stayed at Villa 5 “Eden”, that offers a panoramic view of the lush greenery. Thank you again for making our visit really memorable

L & K
Singapore
April 2022

Everything was tip top!

Thank you, Alta Vista, Suri, Made and all the staff! We had a wonderful time! Everything was tip top, the Villa was very comfortable, we loved the food, pool, durians mangosteens, Babi Guling etc. We loved the walk to the village below. The sunset was awesome. Best of all was the great conversation and fellowship. Looking forward to coming back!

T & PS
Singapore
April 2022

Forever Etched In Our Memory!

Our stay here in Alta Vista will be forever etched in our memory. We love everything about this place. The serenity, the exquisite surroundings, and most especially the people. They are so welcoming, you will never feel out of place. Special thanks to the owners, our hosts, you are so generous! God bless you and your family. Thank you to Suri and the team for their excellent service. I will definitely recommend this place and hopefully, we can come back again.

A & M
Australia
February 2020

Alta Vista Has Become Part of Our Wedding Journey!

Thank you so much for this wonderful experience. One night is indeed very short, but we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it! Thank you for the warm surprise set up in our room! Thank you for the fantastic dinner experience. Thank you for attending to our every need and sorry if we became perhaps one of your loudest and messiest client! Now that Alta Vista has become part of our wedding journey, we will be looking forward to coming back here, perhaps for our wedding anniversary! With lots of love,

C & M
Singapore
February 2020

We Can’t Wait to Come Back!

Thank you for making our stay at Alta Vista so wonderful! The villa is so beautiful, we can’t wait to come back with our friends in the near future so that they can experience this amazing place too!

CR
Singapore
October 2019

We Had the Best Time!

We had the best time during our stay at Alta Vista! We loved swimming in the pool all morning and enjoying the beautiful views around the property. Thanks for treating us so well and for playing with our daughter. Thank you for everything! We can’t wait to return again.

BKL
Denmark
October 2019

A Wonderful Moment

It was a wonderful moment to stay here! I love the food that they made and the beautiful scenery and the great villa! Also, the staff are so kind. We can enjoy our holiday perfectly thanks to them! I hope I can visit here again. Thank you!

TJYS
Korea/Bali
October 2019

On Top of the World!

Thank you for a wonderful 2 days in Alta Vista. Attention to detail – full marks! A feeling of “on top of the world”! Look forward to next time!

July 2019
BDG
UK/Hong Kong/Bali

This was the best wedding gift we received!

Thank you for the great hospitality and for being so welcoming. This was the best wedding gift we received. You have a great team here from the chef, driver and especially Suri. We really enjoyed spending C’s birthday here in the peaceful and tranquil surroundings. It was great seeing this side of Bali, especially the cool weather! We’ll definitely be back and will help spread the word of this beautiful place to our friends.

L & C (Newlyweds)
Singapore
July 2019

The service was outstanding!

Our stay at Alta Vista was short but magnificent. The service was outstanding. The views, pool and open air reception were inviting and warm. The villas were exquisite and in particular the beds! We slept like babies for the first time during our entire trip. Thank you for giving us Suri! He was wonderful!

BZ group
Jakarta
July 2019

We are bursting to let everyone know of this gem of a resort!

This is our first visit to this luxurious and exquisite mountain resort and we have enjoyed everyminute of our stay. The crisp cool mountain air was amazingly refreshing and the ambience so beautiful! Not only was it relaxing but also great familly bonding and so-oo FUN!! Swimming in a warm pool when the air was 16 degrees C and gazing at the stars after dinner was so special. We spent our first day at the resort just taking in the breathtaking views and winding down. Chef Made whipped up some delicious mouth watering Indonesian cuisine. After lazing in the morning and a good part of the afternoon, I decided to take a motorcycle ride with the resort manager Pak Suri to the nearby supermarket as well as down the country lane to visit a typical Balinese home!! I bought and took back two plump pomeloes from a compound belonging to the family of one of the staff Ms Dewa Ayu – they were absolutely delicious! The next few days we took drives to breathtaking views of the twin lakes, Lake Buyan and Tamblingan, crater lakes of immense beauty. We went to visit Singaraja, stopping at laidback Lovina beach and shopping at Krisna, a Balinese handicraft department store. The highlight of our sightseeing drives was to Jatih Luwih rice terraces – a MUST SEE – an awesome sight to behold. The drives took us through small villages, bustling with life and interesting sights. Our skilled and friendly driver told us this is the REAL BALI! Pak Suri, the resort manager is very resourceful and found us fresh ingredients for Sup Buntut and also for seafood dishes. The resort staff are friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the areas around the resort. We are so proud of Alta Vista and bursting to let everyone know of this GEM of a resort!!

D&KW
Singapore
July 2019

A taste of paradise!

To the Owners and all Staff: A taste of paradise, so beautiful and scenic. We had a fantastic stay at the Alta Vista Villas. Great hospitality by Suri, Devi, Dewa and all!

P & Family
Leicester UK
July 2019

Your warmth is truly special!

To the owners and staff at Alta Vista: We have had such a wonderful stay! Your hospitality has made our stay truly special, truly relaxing. Such a magical setting and all the staff have made our stay unique. Suri, Dewi, Dewa, keep smiling! Your warmth is truly special! Thank you for such an amazing time!

M & family
Leicester UK
July 2019

The whole team are AMAZING!!

Suri, Dewi, Dewa and the whole team are AMAZING!! Nothing is too much trouble…we will miss you all! Thanks for a magical stay!

R & Family
Leicester UK
July 2019

A delightful stay!

To all the staff at Alta Vista: Thank you for such a delightful stay! Your hospitality and warmth made us feel immediately at home. It has been such an incredible two nights here and we really are sad to leave. Food was great and service was terrific. Hope to see you all again soon!

S & E (Newlyweds)
Singapore
20 June 2019

The staff are wonderful and their warmth and sincerity are of the highest order!

Dear Owners and Delightful Staff, We are a very mixed group from China, Hong Kong, Canada and England. We have stayed here as your guests for four nights (eleven people all together, including two kids). We want to thank all of you for making our stay so wonderful. All staff here have combined warmth, consideration and kindness with absolute professionalism. We are sorry not to be able to get to know everybody, but Suri shines as an excellent manager and Ms Dewi as a superb support – she remembers everything! The villa is astoundingly beautiful – as everybody has said and we feel privileged to have stayed here. Thank you ALL!

I totally endorse what R has written and can add my sincere thanks. I don’t want to leave! The staff are wonderful and their warmth and sincerity are of the highest order. Bless you and thank you!

RL & family
China, Hong Kong, Canada & England
April 2019

Tripadvisor Review: Truly exceptional villa in every way

A fantastic property with glorious views. Every aspect of this villa has been carefully thought out to provide guests with a perfect holiday. We were welcomed by the wonderful staff, who treated us like family. I can think of no way that the experience we had could be improved upon

Alex
Ontario Canada
April 2019.

This is paradise and we will definitely come back in the future!

Dear owners and staff of Alta Vista, Thank you so much for having us! The journey was long (and winding) but it was definitely worthwhile. The hospitality is so, so warming, it feels like home! The design of the service is unlike any other villas/resorts we have been to – extremely personal and we thoroughly enjoyed the tender, loving care. Not to mention the breathtaking views from our villa and the living area. This is paradise and we will definitely come back in the future. Once again, thank you for the care and time taken to host us. We enjoyed the meals so carefully prepared for us and special thanks for anticipating all our needs. See you guys again!

J&E (Honeymooners)
Singapore
March 2019

The resort is beautiful and a great, restful retreat!

We had a relaxed and restful stay here and are grateful that the staff – chef and Devi are here over Nyepi to attend to us. Suri took us on a nice walk to the village. Service was great, keep it up! Food is great too. Thank you for taking care of all our needs. The resort is beautiful and a great, restful retreat! Mardy was a wonderful guide and we saw many signts in one day, even Ubud. Thank you again for everything!

CY & CL
Singapore
March 2019

Lovely, serene property that’s well kept and cozy!

Thank you so much Alta Vista team, especially Dewi and Suri for your hospitality and impeccable service. Lovely, serene property that’s well kept and cozy. Really enjoyed the pleasant stay. Would love to come and appreciate the villa’s beauty in the summer in the next visit.

JL
Singapore
February 2019

The villa is a piece of art…beautiful and heaven like!

Amazing Alta Vista Staff, Thank you very much for the tender loving care you have attended to us. Your smile and kindness energised us for this beginnning of the year. The villa is a piece of art in this jungle village, tasteful, luxurious, beautiful and heaven like. We had a fabulous and unforgettable experience! Thanks to the owner who made it happen!

S & J
Hong Kong
February 2019

You are all fantastic and may you never change!

Dear Alta Vista, From the bottom of our hearts, we would like to thank ALL of the staff for such a warm welcome and amazing stay. When we arrived, we had smiles all round and that did not change throughout our stay. The food was incredibly fresh and they catered to all our needs. Despite the weather, we enjoyed our luxurious villa and the environment surrounding it. You are all fantastic and many you never change! Thank you all!

K & J
England
January 2019

What a fabulously beautiful place this is in every possible way!

So happy to have spent time here!! The Alta Vista team is just lovely and provides gracious and friendly service. Thank you for being so accommodating to the needs of all 10 of us! Most of all, what a fabulously beautiful place this is in every possible way! Well appointed, gloriously made and magnificently located. A very happy stay!

CSL
Singapore
January 2019

I’ve earned myself new family here in North Bali!

Dearest Alta Vista team, What a magnifique stay! Thank you very much for your warm and over the top hospitality. You truly made us feel like VIPS. It was beautiful, from the villa itself, the view, the serenity, the whole experience. I felt at home! Thank you – I’ve earned myself new family here in North Bali. Hope to be back – in the summer next!

RR
Singapore
dECEMBER 2018

It was a wonderful and relaxing experience!

Thank you for the warm hospitality, delicious food and for making us feel right at home. The villas are well-furnished, with ample luxuries that made our stay extremely comfortable. My husband and I love the location of the villa and the cool weather up in the mountains was a pleasant surprise (nice respite from the humid weather in Singapoer). It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. We will definitely be back and will recommend this beautiful villa! Many thanks!

GTL
Singapore
November 2018

Tripadvisor Review: The best hiding place in bali – true serenity

It’s located just after the Bedugul destination area.. a really nice design with a CLEAN feel and FRESH air, at the evening I really love the fireplace by the pool. It’s a true private luxury space — perfect serenity for meditation and family retreat.

They also have in house wine and quite nice foods.

Most important by staying here you can continue your excellent journey to another hidden waterfall nearby – my best recomendation is to reach Tirta Buana waterfall which just opened, on the same way to Sekumpul waterfall.Explore danau tamblingan sunrise its really great feel there.

Experience star gazing around 8pm at this villa (they have huge garden) and sometimes 2am midnight – most of all I love the new atmosphere of Bali and the cool weather here.

Krishna_Photographer
Bali Indonesia
November 2018

The place itself is nothing short of a wonderful experience!

Dear Alta Vista, Thank you for the fantastic welcome. Truly amazing team, making us feel right at home. The moment we stepped out of our car the place itself is nothing short of a wonderful experience, view and beauty. I love waking up to the sounds of nature and fresh air and Alta Vista made me not want to leave! Thank you again and I have to return soon! The food is amazing too! Thank you Chef Made! Much love from Singapore,

SR
Singapore
December 2018

We could have spent many more days here!

To the wonderful team at Alta Vista, thank you for your kindness and taking care of us during our short stay here. We could have spent many more days here! the views were spectacular, the food excellent and the staff thoughtful and hospitable. We’ll be back.

PA
Singapore
November 2018

Alta Vista Has Become Part of Our Wedding Journey!

Thank you so much for this wonderful experience. One night is indeed very short, but we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it! Thank you for the warm surprise set up in our room! Thank you for the fantastic dinner experience. Thank you for attending to our every need and sorry if we became perhaps one of your loudest and messiest client! Now that Alta Vista has become part of our wedding journey, we will be looking forward to coming back here, perhaps for our wedding anniversary! With lots of love,

C & M
Singapore
October 2018

A very lovely stay at Alta Vista

We had a very lovely stay at Alta Vista! The team was very sweet and helpful! We will hopefully be back again!

A & L
Denmark
October 2018

Everything was perfect!

Many thanks for your kindness during out two days at your beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect: the pool, the view, the food, the room and the fine people working here. We were the only guests during our stay and really felt welcomed!! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and hope we can come again another time to enjoy your wonderful villa! Best,

E & J
France
October 2018

I felt blessed to be here!

Wow! The love and hospitality you have shown is greatly appreciated. It’s the people in Bali that make Bali so special and made my journey so magical. Thank you for ALL you have assited me with to make my stay here truly special! This result is very special and I felt blessed to be here on my own. Beauty abounds and I love the flowers, animals, fruits and vegetables I have learned about. The food was amazing. Suksma! May you all have wonderful lives full of love and gifts. Love,
SS
USA
October 2018

Paradise Beyond The Mountains

To the remarkable personnel of Alta Vista, I had wanted to write pages and pages of comments, views and suggestions intially, but after having read the write-ups of the earlier visitors to this incredible “Paradise Beyond The Mountains”, I realised that what I intended to express has been vividly and intimately penned many times over, by numerous illustrious people, re the unbelievable uniqueness and the unassuming hospitality of Alta Vista. Hence it’s only befitting for me to say a simple, but sincere and meaningful “Thank You” for creating and maintaining this “Paradise” for people like us, who treasure peace, quiet, clean air, warm and caring staff and ono-imposing yet magnificent structures which exude tranquility and harjmony (yin/yang). Certainly hope to return again for more discoveries and surprises! Lots and loads of love!
CPL and family
Singapore
October 2018

Tripadvisor Review: Luxury, Beauty and Excellent Service

This hilltop paradise will be hard to top on my travels around Bali!! As soon as you walk through the gates you see the amazing architecture, attention to detail in the decorating landscaping and the views over the valley towards Singaraja. The infinity pool is warm and beckons you… the jaccuzzi feels great after your massage at sunset in the treehouse as the warm winds blow. It’s cooler here in the hills by Lake Tamblingan and Lake Buyan. A great reprive from the heat in the west or in Ubud.
The indoor/outdoor feel of my villa with its 2 walls of glass and the headboard and shower windows to the outside greenery were beautiful. This architect and landscaper knew what they were doing to create an exotic welcoming experience.

The food prepared by Chef Made was delicious.. he knows how to make soup this man!! Chicken Batutu, the local specialty-delish and the fried rice, also mouthwatering. Fresh ingredients make the difference and if they don’t have it.. they’ll get it! That goes for anything you may desire or need while here at Altavista. Made, the GM, and his staff are soo friendly and accommodating. Helped me with…transportation more than once, learning the local culture and teaching me about the local vegetation. I met locals and enjoyed their hospitality on my guided tour by Made. I needed some meds.. he got them for me… anything they can do to make your stay a special one.. they will do! Lots of smiles and happy memories.. I stayed in October.. low season and a great time to visit Bali as not so many crowds. Thank you to everyone..Made, Dewi, Dewa, Chef Made, Eris and Benjamina, the resort dog, and all the staff. I want to bring my kids back someday.

Shepherdsally9
Chefchaouen Morocco
October 2018

I’ve never experienced something like this!

I never experienced something like this! All the personnel are so friendly. They try to read our every wish even before they leave our lips, with kindly smiles and joy! The food was bought fresh from the market just for us and the dinner and breakfast were just delicious! We are so sorry to stay only one night. We would love to come again.. Thank you! PS: The local sweets in the morning were amazing!


YS and family
Switzerland
October 2018

The moment we stepped foot in the villa, I knew this is the place that we will eventually fall deeply in love with!

The moment we stepped foot in the villa, I knew this is the place that we will eventually fall deeply in love with. The views, sunsets, staff, the delicious food, everything was perfect. Also I appreciate the effort by the entire villa to assist in my proposal to my partner and from the depths of our hearts, we would like to thank you again for your help…and luckily, she said YES! With deepest love,


KL&C
Singapore
September 2018

It will be a gorgeous memory of our Honeymoon!

Thank you very much for sucn a warm welcome! Every detail during our stay was spotless. The team was super attentive and sweet. It will be a gorgeous memory of our Honeymoon here in Bali. Thank you also to Alta Vista’s owner, whom we had the pleasure to meet and he treated us like good friends! We wish you all the best to you and your fantastic team. Lots of love.
G&JR
USA
September 2018

One just simply cannot ask for more!

An incredibly beautiful, relaxing and perfect holiday! Gorgeous sunsets and sunrises and the best massages in the world! Attentive and charming staff, very comfortable bedding with awesome views to wake up to, are hard to top!! Then, juas when you think the view cannot be topped…you climb up to the “tree-house” and the spectacular scenery from there blow the mind. Warm pool and Jacuzzi amidst the cool environment outside…super delicious strawberry pancakes in the mornings…fun with family, including our young grandkids and friends, one just simply cannot ask for more!! Love it!
JMKF
Singapore
September 2018

Wow, what an experience!

What can be more enjoyable that time with my family and my grandkids in Alta Vista! On my third trip here, the experience is still enthralling and I can’t get enough of the walks along the village road to visit some of my village friends (knowing spoken Bahasa Indonesia is a boon). Time in the heated pool, a trip to the black sand beaches of Lovina, meeting the 80-year old villager who told me that if he could he would get some fresh coconuts for me, but he can no longer climb his 7.5 m tree these days. Finding a live sea urchin on the beach to show the grandkids etc., have been wonderful experiences. And the vegetables, the “cingke” (cloves) and avocados! Wow, what an experience. Thank you!
WY
Singapore
September 2018

Thank you for a wonderful time!

Where does the sky end and the sea begin? Alta Vista truly lives up to its name. A week here wouldn’t be enough to soak in the peace and quiet beauty here. I loved the mist in the mornings, looking over the greens of the hills to the west and the soft crackling fire at sunset. Especially the glimpse of the three volcanoes in the evening calm. Thank you for a wonderful time! We’ll be back 🙂 P.S: I can’t remember ever tasting better pancakes or (home made) strawberry jam!
JWW & family
Singapore
September 2018

 

Tripadvisor Review: Phenomenal spot

Very special place above the clouds!
The service was super attentive and went an extra mile and beyond to make the best out of our stay.
Bungalows are beautifully design to have privacy but at the same time sharing the common open area. Fantastic views!

Jespasto
Seattle Washington
September 2018

We felt like kings!

Dear Alta Vista, Thank you for having us as your guests. It was just great! We have never seen such an enthusiastic, friendly and helpful staff. We felt like kings, where every wish was fulfilled. The place is just wonderful, way up in the mountains in the north. If we come back to the north of Bali again, we will come back to Alta Vista.
PM
Switzerland
August 2018

What a nice surprise when you enter in this fabulous place

What a nice surprise when you enter in this fabulous place…the pool, the Jacuzzi, the landscape, the “rest area”… The room is nicely designed…Everything is perfect!!! The staff are very welcoming, discreet and always taking care of us with a big smile. Wonderful experience. We MUST come back!!! Thanks for everything.
MC and family
Switzerland
August 2018

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff.

Amazing stay with an amazing staff. Villa was perfect and the place just wonderful. Thanks for all.
SS
France
August 2018

What a fantastic place in Bali!

What a fantastic place in Bali! Far away from the chaos, the traffic, the noise and the crowds of the South, one finds a paradise on Earth. The location, the staff and the food are all excellent. And, if you happen to meet the owner like we did, you get a free whisky or glass of red wine kindly offered by him. A HUGE thank you and hopefully we will see you again!
PM & Family
Switzerland
July 2018

Alta Vista! What an amazing place!

Alta Vista! What an amazing place! The staff is incredibly welcoming and the atmosphere is very relaxed. With the treehouse and poolside, there are lots of places around the compound to hang out and relax. The rooms are lovely and have great views of the sunset! With the nice cool weather, this was a perfect place to stay!
BT
New York, USA
July 2018

I’m so glad I got to come back to see you all, you guys are the best!

Dear Alta Vista Staff, I’m so glad I got to come back to see you all, you guys are the best! I love the villas and this place sooo much. Chef Made, your food is the BEST ever! And thank you Aunty Dewi and Aunty Ayu for being so nice and hospitable. Also Uncle Jayadi, I’m so glad to have met you. But anyway, this is the best place ever and you all make it 10X more amazing! I’ll miss you guys and hope to see you again!!


TFT
Luxembourg
July 2018

I must say what an excellent experience

Dear Alta Vista, I must say what an excellent experience, wonderful charming staff, great rooms and a really cool (but heated!) pool to boot. My time in Bali has only been improved while staying here and I hope to return soon. PS: the bath was excellent!


JT
New York, USA
July 2018

Your staff and vistas are heaven on earth!

Dear Alta Vista, Your staff and vistas are heaven on earth! Jayadi was so welcoming, Dewi so cute and helpful and Top Chef Made made the best food in Asia I have tasted, especially the Pumpkin soup. The staff are superb, the rooms are luxurious and 6-star quality. Sunsets on the tree house were beautiful, pool was perfect temperature, masseuses excellent. When can I come back to North Bali and Alta Vista? Not soon enough! Many thanks!


CKT
Virginia, USA
July 2018

It was a marvellous and magnificent experience to be so well treated.

It was a marvellous and magnificent experience to be so well treated. In fact my family and I were thoroughly spoiled! The bed was feather-soft, the villa bungalows were very beautiful, your staff were fantastic and the food prepared by your chef was very fine indeed. Many thanks for everything!

W and family
Switzerland
July 2018

A perfect holiday getaway!

Amazing! Awesome! The service and attention from the manager, the butlers, the chef and everyone else made us feel so welcomed and honoured. We were so warmly received upon arrival and the manager even lined up all the staff to introduce themselves to us & let us know their various roles. Indeed we were treated like royalty with the staff always striving to anticipate our needs and going the ‘extra mile’. We loved the delicious food specially prepared by the smiling chef! We loved the massages specially arranged at the top of the villa at the tree-house for us to enjoy the magnificent view. Masseurs were great! The villa rooms were spacious & well designed. My wife liked the amenities & the many mirrors. The jacuzzi and infinity pool really added to the nice resort feel. I love the spectacular view from there and from the villa balcony. A truly remarkable place for those seeking peace, tranquility & ‘me time’. Will recommend to my friends & looking forward to staying here again soon. Thank you all for making it a perfect holiday getaway for us. Cheers!

DL
Singapore
May 2018

Tripadvisor Review: Our Anniversary Stay in Bali

Alta Vista is up north & the drive is less than 3 hours from the Airport. These private villas are brand new, modern & well stocked with luxurious toiletries. I can tell you that The mattress is definitely better than the heavenly bed in Westin Hotels. Being high up in the mountains, we have a panoramic view of the lake & town area & the weather was a cool 22 degrees in the day & falls to 17 at night. We slept without the aircon during our stay. Been to bali more than 10 times but didn’t know that cool mountain places exist coz ubud is considered warm by comparison. This place is much like a luxurious residence with a heated pool & jacuzzi & personalised service throughout. The lobby is an open living area just next to the dining table. The team that runs this Villa concept consists of a Caring Manger, a very experienced Chef, helpful Butlers, friendly Gardeners and alert security staff. The staff are so genuinely happy in their jobs that it shows in their service. I was down with a bad cough during our stay & ran out of medication & The Manager offered to drive us to the Doctor. Now the doctor is like 20 mins away & it was at night so we were really impressed by his concern. Food was delicious ( the freshly squeezed juice is a must) & we ate most of our meals in the dining room & stayed mostly in the villa during our 3 days there. We had massages every day & it was so relaxing that I personally recommend anyone who wants to have a quiet break to stay here as it is unlike staying in a hotel. Very homely with top notch service & quality. All the staff came by to say goodbye on our departure, we felt like royalty.

Singaporescreen
Singapore
May 2018

We loved our stay at Alta Vista.

We loved our stay at Alta Vista. Although we walked in quite late, we were welcomed and our host made us feel like home. The food was delicious, especially the copious breakfast. Also loved the pool and the views. Finally, well done for the planning and construction of the resort. It is obvious that a lot of thought went into every detail and quality can be felt everywhere. We will be back!
G & O
France, Mongolia
March 2018

The rest I was really looking forward to on this trip.

The rest I was really looking forward to on this trip. Not only were the views spectacular and the rooms lovely, but the food was to die for and the people were all very warm and sweet. My favourite memories that I’ll be (sadly) taking away are definitely the amazing constellation views and roasting marshmallows over the open fire pit. Had a great time with my family and am really thankful for the time I got to spend with them and friends here. The Jacuzzi was a missed opportunity (damn you, cold!) and something I definitely hope on trying one day!!
GG
Singapore
March 2018

The last hideway from the heat and buzz of Bali!

The last hideway from the heat and buzz of Bali! If you want to get away from it all, yet be in a place which has been so thoughtfully designed, then Alta Vista is the place. We have fallen in love once again with the other Bali. Thank you for this very precious time away from everything – to be surrounded by beauty. Loved the food, love the massages, loved the villa, the heated pool and the mesmerizing fire. Thank you dear staff and management for such an unforgettable and special stay. A paradise in the clouds
AF
Singapore
March 2018

Alta Vista proves that Bali is not just about sun and sand

Alta Vista proves that Bali is not just about sun and sand, or touts trying to get you to another dance put on for tourists. It is the perfect replacement for the now not-so-cool Cameron Highlands and Fraser’s Hill – the longed-for cool retreat for those in the region who need respite from the crowds and the heat!
EKG
Singapore
March 2018

So many good things to say!

1. Lovely views. I had a swim on the last morning – warm water, cool breeze, bright sun!
2. Nice weather. Unlike other places in Bali which are warm, it is cool up here.
3. Private, safe and sound
4. I say again, the people here are FANTASTIC!
5. I almost forgot – we enjoyed the massages here. Had one everyday!
LL
Singapore
March 2018

Home away from home!

My wife and I spend most of our anniversaries on a trip. On this stay, we really had a wonderful time. We didn’t expect the cool weather when we arrived at the car porch. Then there were smiles from the staff greeting us into the compound. The ever pleasant service never stopped for the days to come! We have to say this is one of our better stays. The smiles were genuine and heartfelt. They are so sincere. We felt more like at home than in a hotel. Pak Made was ever so kind to drive us to see a doctor when my wife was suffering from a bad throat. He was so concerned for her well-being. The food was very thought out by the chef. He made sure we were not hungry any time of the day! As it was our anniversary, the staff prepared a special welcome for us. They upgraded us to the suite villa! The bed was beautifully decorated with 2 white swans and lots of red petals. So was the bathtub. The weather was cool, although wet at moments. This is nice place to relax and pamper the soul. Would I come back again? You bet! Hopefully with my 2 boys and some close friends or family members. We would like to thank Pak Made, the chef and all the staff for making us feel at home, safe and welcome. Thank you for the wine too! It is the people who make the difference!
JL
Singapore
March 2018

This special hideaway in the Bedugul mountains

This special hideaway in the Bedugul mountains gave us an experience of Bali so far unknown. The location is offering many facets to a relaxed sojourn, Pak Made and his team topped it all up with great hospitality. I felt very well taken care of. So I say sampai bertemu lagi.


TJ
Netherlands
March 2018

Have been looking for a place to escape

Have been looking for a place to escape to in the mountain from our seaside living. We had such a wonderful time with everyone taking such good care of us. Will recommend to our famiy and friends.


WWR
Sanur Bali
March 2018

An absolute treasure in North Bali!

An absolute treasure in North Bali! Alta Vista is a gem of a property with breathtaking views, very thoughtfully designed villas and shared spaces, pleasant staff and yummy food. The beautiful and tranquil surrounds, well appointed villa, cool weather and Sudi’s massages made this one of my most relaxing stays in Bali. We will definitely be back for more of this wonderful slice of paradise. Thank you for your warm hospitality. We enjoyed dining and exploring North Bali with you. Appreciation to the team who run Alta Vista with such grace and efficiency.
FRA
Singapore
February 2018

I enjoyed all of your service and breakfast,

Dear Alta Vista staff, I enjoyed all of your service and breakfast, lunch and dinner. Love.
AVDS (age 8)
Singapore
February 2018

The villas are very well appointed

Dear Staff of Alta Vista, this is the second time we’ve stayed in Alta Vista and we have again thoroughly enjoyed your friendly service and your warm hospitality. The villas are very well appointed, allowing us a very restful and enjoyable stay. Thank you and we look forward to returning again soon! PVDS
PVDS
Netherlands
February 2018

Beautiful views!

Beautiful views! Amazing staff and delicious food! Can’t wait to come back!
SA
Singapore
February 2018

What a beautiful place Villa Alta Vista is!

What a beautiful place Villa Alta Vista is! From the moment we arrived, Pak Jayadi and his wonderful staff greeted us with warmth and joy. We were made to feel at home straightaway. The villa area has such a peaceful feel to it and the fog makes it all quite mystical. Inside our villa it was perfect and every thoughtful detail had been attended to. Our food was so delicious – thank you Pak Made for looking after us. We love North Bali and you have made our first time here fantastic.
RR
Australian, living in Canggu Bali
January 2018

This is one of the best villas I have ever stayed at!

This is one of the best villas I have ever stayed at! The minute I arrived I felt so welcome and everyone made me feel like home. The service here is amazing and everyone is so nice and happy. The food is delicious, so thank you Chef Made! I will miss everyone here and the villa and can’t wait to stay here again one day!
IN (age 11)
Australian, living in Canggu Bali
January 2018

Dear Staff, I love it here so much, I am going to miss you all.

Dear Staff, I love it here so much, I am going to miss you all. We are going to come again, so I am happy. I loved our stay a lot and the room was AMAZING. Love from,
NE (age 7)
Australian, living in Canggu Bali
January 2018

Dear Alta Vista Staff, I loved our stay here so much.

Dear Alta Vista Staff, I loved our stay here so much. You are all so nice. I loved the room! We have to come again!! Love from,
IS (age 9)
Australian, living in Canggu Bali
January 2018

Tripadvisor Review: Stunning location & friendly service

We stumbled on Alta Vista when we visited the highlands of Northern Bali. The property has stunning views all the way towards the Bali sea and Eastern Java and is situated in a very peaceful and tranquil location. The villas were spacious and very comfortable with all amenities that you can expect in a luxury villa. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any queries. Many things to do in the surrounding area, including hiking, mountain biking and sightseeing. We thoroughly our 3 days stay and would warmly recommend it.
Rollerexplorer
December 2017

Thank you to all the staff.

Thank you to all the staff. I am very happy with the friendly and wonderful service extended to us. Hopefully we will see you again in the summer next year.
NEJB
Singapore
November 2017

Tripadvisor Review: Far from the madding crowd!

Villa Alta Vista is the place to go to if you are in search of a vacation in a restful, tranquil setting, away from the crowds. You will be totally pampered by the staff and the meals are delicious. Each villa is spacious, well-equipped and very comfortable. Given that Alta Vista is quite a bit above sea level, the pool is heated and is fabulous to swim in. If you are into views, Alta Vista has them too; in particular, I enjoyed the sunset every evening. If you want to do some sight-seeing, the management can arrange for transport to drive you to nearby places of interest. I was driven to, among other places, a site where there was a panoramic view of terraced padi fields. Also did a simple hike to see a waterfall. Along the roads, there were many fields covered in various hues of blue — these were hydrangea plants that were in full bloom in the nurseries at that time. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

NorthCreek
Singapore
September 2017

Alta Vista: A taste of paradise.

Alta Vista: A taste of paradise. So beautiful, so serene. Thank you very much to my hosts and to all the staff members who pampered me for the few days I was lucky enough to spend here. All my best wishes for the future.
SML
Singapore
September 2017

What an incredible villa

Dear Owners, Management and Staff of Alta Vista: What an incredible villa – “top of the world” views, peace and solitude, fresh cool breezes. All the best for a wonderful launch and much success for the future. Many thanks for everything.
RL
Singapore
August 2017

Tripadvisor Review: Tip top villa far from the maddening crowd

I stayed at Atlavista for 3 nights with family and friends as an add-on to 3 nights in south Bali since I had never stayed in the north before and wanted to get to know another side of the island – far from the maddening crowd which has changed the south so much in recent years.

My first stay in the north was not a disappointment – this is untouched Bali as it was 20 years ago (when I first visited) with village life intact, less commercial glitter and the innate charm and friendliness of the Balinese shining through.

There is enough to do to warrant a trip up north – waterfalls and lakes, spectacular rice terraces and deserted beaches (Altavista is only a 45 minute drive from the north coast). But this was mainly a great place to rest and rejuvenate in the fresh, clean mountain air.

Altavista itself is a brand new property which for the first time brings the highest villa standards to north Bali. On a spacious plot of land at the very peak of a ridge, the property has views on a clear day all the way to the north coast. You really feel like you are living in the clouds (which you are quite a bit of the time as it does get cloudy and wet here more often than in the south). The weather is however very changeable and during our 3 day stay each day had a good few hours of sunny crisp weather.

Altavista’s facilities cannot be faulted. Each bedroom suite is in its own bungalow building which means lots of privacy and space. Some of the pavilions are located down a ramp which might cause problems for elderly visitors, however 2 rooms are more accessible and my 77-year old mother had no problems.

Service was friendly, personal and with lots of smiles and food was good, although less sophisticated than in villas in south Bali. For a family holiday this was ideal as the staff were incredibly accommodating to our flexible meal times and requests.

For me, the only real downside of Altavista was the journey there – from Ubud it took us more than 2 hours, although journey time varies a lot depending on traffic. When planning a trip to Altavista I would discuss transfer plans carefully with the villa management to plan smooth transfers. But once you get there and slide into the slower rhythm of north Bali it’s well worth the effort.