Reviews

Featured in

    Media Reviews

    Here’s why you need to stay at the stunning Alta Vista Bali Mountain Villa

    Here’s why you need to stay at the stunning Alta Vista Bali Mountain Villa

    Epic mountain views, stunning natural designs and luxurious villas up high - here are just 5 reasons why we LOVE Alta Vista Bali... 

    pdfDownload Article

    What's in a house? Go home away from home in Alta Vista Bali.

    What's in a house? Go home away from home in Alta Vista Bali.

    That which we call home by any other name would feel just as snug. 

    What does one envision in the humble abode?  What elements compose en casa?

    jpg Download Article

    Guest Reviews

    This was the best wedding gift we received!

    Thank you for the great hospitality and for being so welcoming. This was the best wedding gift we received. You have a great team here from the chef, driver and especially Suri We really enjoyed spending C's birthday here in the peaceful and tranquil surroundings. It was great seeing this side of Bali, especially the cool weather! We'll definitely be back and will help spread the word of this beautiful place to our friends.

    L & C (Newlyweds)
    Singapore
    July 2019

    We are bursting to let everyone know of this gem of a resort!

    This is our first visit to this luxurious and exquisite mountain resort and we have enjoyed everyminute of our stay. The crisp cool mountain air was amazingly refreshing and the ambience so beautiful! Not only was it relaxing but also great familly bonding and so-oo FUN!! Swimming in a warm pool when the air was 16 degrees C and gazing at the stars after dinner was so special. We spent our first day at the resort just taking in the breathtaking views and winding down. Chef Made whipped up some delicious mouth watering Indonesian cuisine. After lazing in the morning and a good part of the afternoon, I decided to take a motorcycle ride with the resort manager Pak Suri to the nearby supermarket as well as down the country lane to visit a typical Balinese home!! I bought and took back two plump pomeloes from a compound belonging to the family of one of the staff Ms Dewa Ayu - they were absolutely delicious! The next few days we took drives to breathtaking views of the twin lakes, Lake Buyan and Tamblingan, crater lakes of immense beauty. We went to visit Singaraja, stopping at laidback Lovina beach and shopping at Krisna, a Balinese handicraft department store. The highlight of our sightseeing drives was to Jatih Luwih rice terraces - a MUST SEE - an awesome sight to behold. The drives took us through small villages, bustling with life and interesting sights. Our skilled and friendly driver told us this is the REAL BALI! Pak Suri, the resort manager is very resourceful and found us fresh ingredients for Sup Buntut and also for seafood dishes. The resort staff are friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the areas around the resort. We are so proud of Alta Vista and bursting to let everyone know of this GEM of a resort!!

    D&KW
    Singapore
    July 2019

    The service was outstanding!

    Our stay at Alta Vista was short but magnificent. The service was outstanding. The views, pool and open air reception were inviting and warm. The villas were exquisite and in particular the beds! We slept like babies for the first time during our entire trip. Thank you for giving us Suri! He was wonderful!

    BZ group
    Jakarta
    July 2019

    Your warmth is truly special!

    To the owners and staff at Alta Vista: We have had such a wonderful stay! Your hospitality has made our stay truly special, truly relaxing. Such a magical setting and all the staff have made our stay unique. Suri, Dewi, Dewa, keep smiling! Your warmth is truly special! Thank you for such an amazing time!

    M & family
    Leicester UK
    July 2019

    A taste of paradise!

    To the Owners and all Staff: A taste of paradise, so beautiful and scenic. We had a fantastic stay at the Alta Vista Villas. Great hospitality by Suri, Devi, Dewa and all!

    P & Family
    Leicester UK
    July 2019

    The whole team are AMAZING!!

    Suri, Dewi, Dewa and the whole team are AMAZING!! Nothing is too much trouble...we will miss you all! Thanks for a magical stay!

    R & Family
    Leicester UK
    July 2019

    A delightful stay!

    To all the staff at Alta Vista: Thank you for such a delightful stay! Your hospitality and warmth made us feel immediately at home. It has been such an incredible two nights here and we really are sad to leave. Food was great and service was terrific.Hope to see you all again soon!

    S & E (Newlyweds)
    Singapore
    20 June 2019

    The staff are wonderful and their warmth and sincerity are of the highest order!

    Dear Owners and Delightful Staff, We are a very mixed group from China, Hong Kong, Canada and England. We have stayed here as your guests for four nights (eleven people all together, including two kids). We want to thank all of you for making our stay so wonderful. All staff here have combined warmth, consideration and kindness with absolute professionalism. We are sorry not to be able to get to know everybody, but Suri shines as an excellent manager and Ms Dewi as a superb support - she remembers everything! The villa is astoundingly beautiful - as everybody as said and we feel privileged to have stayed here. Thank you ALL!

    I totally endorse what R has written and can add my sincere thanks. I don't want to leave! The staff are wonderful and their warmth and sincerity are of the highest order. Bless you and thank you!

    RL & family
    China, Hong Kong, Canada & England
    April 2019

    Tripadvisor Review: Truly exceptional villa in every way

    A fantastic property with glorious views. Every aspect of this villa has been carefully thought out to provide guests with a perfect holiday. We were welcomed by the wonderful staff, who treated us like family. I can think of no way that the experience we had could be improved upon

    Alex
    Ontario Canada
    April 2019.

    This is paradise and we will definitely come back in the future!

    Dear owners and staff of Alta Vista, Thank you so much for having us! The journey was long (and winding) but it was definitely worthwhile. The hospitality is so, so warming, it feels like home! The design of the service is unlike any other villas/resorts we have been to - extremely personal and we thoroughly enjoyed the tender, loving care. Not to mention the breathtaking views from our villa and the living area. This is paradise and we will definitely come back in the future. Once again, thank you for the care and time taken to host us. We enjoyed the meals so carefully prepared for us and special thanks for anticipating all our needs. See you guys again!

    J&E (Honeymooners)
    Singapore
    March 2019

    The resort is beautiful and a great, restful retreat!

    We had a relaxed and restful stay here and are grateful that the staff - chef and Devi are here over Nyepi to attend to us. Suri took us on a nice walk to the village. Service was great, keep it up! Food is great too. Thank you for taking care of all our needs. The resort is beautiful and a great, restful retreat! Mardy was a wonderful guide and we saw many signts in one day, even Ubud. Thank you again for everything!

    CY & CL
    Singapore
    March 2019

    Lovely, serene property that's well kept and cozy!

    Thank you so much Alta Vista team, especially Dewi and Suri for your hospitality and impeccable service. Lovely, serene property that's well kept and cozy. Really enjoyed the pleasant stay. Would love to come and appreciate the villa's beauty in the summer in the next visit.

    JL
    Singapore
    February 2019

    The villa is a piece of art...beautiful and heaven like!

    Amazing Alta Vista Staff, Thank you very much for the tender loving care you have attended to us. Your smile and kindness energised us for this beginnning of the year. The villa is a piece of art in this jungle village, tasteful, luxurious, beautiful and heaven like. We had a fabulous and unforgettable experience! Thanks to the owner who made it happen!

    S & J
    Hong Kong
    February 2019

    You are all fantastic and may you never change!

    Dear Alta Vista, From the bottom of our hearts, we would like to thank ALL of the staff for such a warm welcome and amazing stay. When we arrived, we had smiles all round and that did not change throughout our stay. The food was incredibly fresh and they catered to all our needs. Despite the weather, we enjoyed our luxurious villa and the environment surrounding it. You are all fantastic and many you never change! Thank you all!

    K & J
    England
    January 2019

    What a fabulously beautiful place this is in every possible way!

    So happy to have spent time here!! The Alta Vista team is just lovely and provides gracious and friendly service. Thank you for being so accommodating to the needs of all 10 of us! Most of all, what a fabulously beautiful place this is in every possible way! Well appointed, gloriously made and magnificently located. A very happy stay!

    CSL
    Singapore
    January 2019

    I've earned myself new family here in North Bali!

    Dearest Alta Vista team, What a magnifique stay! Thank you very much for your warm and over the top hospitality. You truly made us feel like VIPS. It was beautiful, from the villa itself, the view, the serenity, the whole experience. I felt at home! Thank you - I've earned myself new family here in North Bali. Hope to be back - in the summer next!

    RR
    Singapore
    dECEMBER 2018

    It was a wonderful and relaxing experience!

    Thank you for the warm hospitality, delicious food and for making us feel right at home. The villas are well-furnished, with ample luxuries that made our stay extremely comfortable. My husband and I love the location of the villa and the cool weather up in the mountains was a pleasant surprise (nice respite from the humid weather in Singapoer). It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. We will definitely be back and will recommend this beautiful villa! Many thanks!

    GTL
    Singapore
    November 2018

    Tripadvisor Review: The best hiding place in bali - true serenity

    It's located just after the Bedugul destination area.. a really nice design with a CLEAN feel and FRESH air, at the evening I really love the fireplace by the pool. It's a true private luxury space --- perfect serenity for meditation and family retreat.

    They also have in house wine and quite nice foods.

    Most important by staying here you can continue your excellent journey to another hidden waterfall nearby - my best recomendation is to reach Tirta Buana waterfall which just opened, on the same way to Sekumpul waterfall.Explore danau tamblingan sunrise its really great feel there.

    Experience star gazing around 8pm at this villa (they have huge garden) and sometimes 2am midnight - most of all I love the new atmosphere of Bali and the cool weather here.

    Krishna_Photographer
    Bali Indonesia
    November 2018

    The place itself is nothing short of a wonderful experience!

    Dear Alta Vista, Thank you for the fantastic welcome. Truly amazing team, making us feel right at home. The moment we stepped out of our car the place itself is nothing short of a wonderful experience, view and beauty. I love waking up to the sounds of nature and fresh air and Alta Vista made me not want to leave! Thank you again and I have to return soon! The food is amazing too! Thank you Chef Made! Much love from Singapore,

    SR
    Singapore
    December 2018

    We could have spent many more days here!

    To the wonderful team at Alta Vista, thank you for your kindness and taking care of us during our short stay here. We could have spent many more days here! the views were spectacular, the food excellent and the staff thoughtful and hospitable. We'll be back.

    PA
    Singapore
    November 2018

    A very lovely stay at Alta Vista

    We had a very lovely stay at Alta Vista! The team was very sweet and helpful! We will hopefully be back again!

    A & L
    Denmark
    October 2018

    Everything was perfect!

    Many thanks for your kindness during out two days at your beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect: the pool, the view, the food, the room and the fine people working here. We were the only guests during our stay and really felt welcomed!! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and hope we can come again another time to enjoy your wonderful villa! Best,

    E & J
    France
    October 2018

    I felt blessed to be here!

    Wow! The love and hospitality you have shown is greatly appreciated. It's the people in Bali that make Bali so special and made my journey so magical. Thank you for ALL you have assited me with to make my stay here truly special! This result is very special and I felt blessed to be here on my own. Beauty abounds and I love the flowers, animals, fruits and vegetables I have learned about. The food was amazing. Suksma! May you all have wonderful lives full of love and gifts. Love,
    SS
    USA
    October 2018

     

    Paradise Beyond The Mountains

    To the remarkable personnel of Alta Vista, I had wanted to write pages and pages of comments, views and suggestions intially, but after having read the write-ups of the earlier visitors to this incredible "Paradise Beyond The Mountains", I realised that what I intended to express has been vividly and intimately penned many times over, by numerous illustrious people, re the unbelievable uniqueness and the unassuming hospitality of Alta Vista. Hence it's only befitting for me to say a simple, but sincere and meaningful "Thank You" for creating and maintaining this "Paradise" for people like us, who treasure peace, quiet, clean air, warm and caring staff and ono-imposing yet magnificent structures which exude tranquility and harjmony (yin/yang). Certainly hope to return again for more discoveries and surprises! Lots and loads of love!
    CPL and family
    Singapore
    October 2018

    Tripadvisor Review: Luxury, Beauty and Excellent Service

    This hilltop paradise will be hard to top on my travels around Bali!! As soon as you walk through the gates you see the amazing architecture, attention to detail in the decorating landscaping and the views over the valley towards Singaraja. The infinity pool is warm and beckons you... the jaccuzzi feels great after your massage at sunset in the treehouse as the warm winds blow. It’s cooler here in the hills by Lake Tamblingan and Lake Buyan. A great reprive from the heat in the west or in Ubud.
    The indoor/outdoor feel of my villa with its 2 walls of glass and the headboard and shower windows to the outside greenery were beautiful. This architect and landscaper knew what they were doing to create an exotic welcoming experience.

    The food prepared by Chef Made was delicious.. he knows how to make soup this man!! Chicken Batutu, the local specialty-delish and the fried rice, also mouthwatering. Fresh ingredients make the difference and if they don’t have it.. they’ll get it! That goes for anything you may desire or need while here at Altavista. Made, the GM, and his staff are soo friendly and accommodating. Helped me with...transportation more than once, learning the local culture and teaching me about the local vegetation. I met locals and enjoyed their hospitality on my guided tour by Made. I needed some meds.. he got them for me... anything they can do to make your stay a special one.. they will do! Lots of smiles and happy memories.. I stayed in October.. low season and a great time to visit Bali as not so many crowds. Thank you to everyone..Made, Dewi, Dewa, Chef Made, Eris and Benjamina, the resort dog, and all the staff. I want to bring my kids back someday.

    Shepherdsally9
    Chefchaouen Morocco
    October 2018

    I've never experienced something like this!

    I never experienced something like this! All the personnel are so friendly. They try to read our every wish even before they leave our lips, with kindly smiles and joy! The food was bought fresh from the market just for us and the dinner and breakfast were just delicious! We are so sorry to stay only one night. We would love to come again.. Thank you! PS: The local sweets in the morning were amazing!
    YS and family
    Switzerland
    October 2018

    The moment we stepped foot in the villa, I knew this is the place that we will eventually fall deeply in love with!

    The moment we stepped foot in the villa, I knew this is the place that we will eventually fall deeply in love with. The views, sunsets, staff, the delicious food, everything was perfect. Also I appreciate the effort by the entire villa to assist in my proposal to my partner and from the depths of our hearts, we would like to thank you again for your help...and luckily, she said YES! With deepest love,
    KL&C
    Singapore
    September 2018

    It will be a gorgeous memory of our Honeymoon!

    Thank you very much for sucn a warm welcome! Every detail during our stay was spotless. The team was super attentive and sweet. It will be a gorgeous memory of our Honeymoon here in Bali. Thank you also to Alta Vista's owner, whom we had the pleasure to meet and he treated us like good friends! We wish you all the best to you and your fantastic team. Lots of love.
    G&JR
    USA
    September 2018

    One just simply cannot ask for more!

    An incredibly beautiful, relaxing and perfect holiday! Gorgeous sunsets and sunrises and the best massages in the world! Attentive and charming staff, very comfortable bedding with awesome views to wake up to, are hard to top!! Then, juas when you think the view cannot be topped...you climb up to the "tree-house" and the spectacular scenery from there blow the mind. Warm pool and Jacuzzi amidst the cool environment outside...super delicious strawberry pancakes in the mornings...fun with family, including our young grandkids and friends, one just simply cannot ask for more!! Love it!
    JMKF
    Singapore
    September 2018

    Wow, what an experience!

    What can be more enjoyable that time with my family and my grandkids in Alta Vista! On my third trip here, the experience is still enthralling and I can't get enough of the walks along the village road to visit some of my village friends (knowing spoken Bahasa Indonesia is a boon). Time in the heated pool, a trip to the black sand beaches of Lovina, meeting the 80-year old villager who told me that if he could he would get some fresh coconuts for me, but he can no longer climb his 7.5 m tree these days. Finding a live sea urchin on the beach to show the grandkids etc., have been wonderful experiences. And the vegetables, the "cingke" (cloves) and avocados! Wow, what an experience. Thank you!
    WY
    Singapore
    September 2018

    Thank you for a wonderful time!

    Where does the sky end and the sea begin? Alta Vista truly lives up to its name. A week here wouldn't be enough to soak in the peace and quiet beauty here. I loved the mist in the mornings, looking over the greens of the hills to the west and the soft crackling fire at sunset. Especially the glimpse of the three volcanoes in the evening calm. Thank you for a wonderful time! We'll be back :) P.S: I can't remember ever tasting better pancakes or (home made) strawberry jam!
    JWW & family
    Singapore
    September 2018

     

    Tripadvisor Review: Phenomenal spot

    Very special place above the clouds!
    The service was super attentive and went an extra mile and beyond to make the best out of our stay.
    Bungalows are beautifully design to have privacy but at the same time sharing the common open area. Fantastic views!

    Jespasto
    Seattle Washington
    September 2018

    We felt like kings!

    Dear Alta Vista, Thank you for having us as your guests. It was just great! We have never seen such an enthusiastic, friendly and helpful staff. We felt like kings, where every wish was fulfilled. The place is just wonderful, way up in the mountains in the north. If we come back to the north of Bali again, we will come back to Alta Vista.
    PM
    Switzerland
    August 2018

     

    What a nice surprise when you enter in this fabulous place

    What a nice surprise when you enter in this fabulous place…the pool, the Jacuzzi, the landscape, the “rest area”… The room is nicely designed…Everything is perfect!!! The staff are very welcoming, discreet and always taking care of us with a big smile. Wonderful experience. We MUST come back!!! Thanks for everything.
    MC and family
    Switzerland
    August 2018

    Great food, great atmosphere, great staff.

    Amazing stay with an amazing staff. Villa was perfect and the place just wonderful. Thanks for all.
    SS
    France
    August 2018

    What a fantastic place in Bali!

    What a fantastic place in Bali! Far away from the chaos, the traffic, the noise and the crowds of the South, one finds a paradise on Earth. The location, the staff and the food are all excellent. And, if you happen to meet the owner like we did, you get a free whisky or glass of red wine kindly offered by him. A HUGE thank you and hopefully we will see you again!
    PM & Family
    Switzerland
    July 2018

    Alta Vista! What an amazing place!

    Alta Vista! What an amazing place! The staff is incredibly welcoming and the atmosphere is very relaxed. With the treehouse and poolside, there are lots of places around the compound to hang out and relax. The rooms are lovely and have great views of the sunset! With the nice cool weather, this was a perfect place to stay!
    BT
    New York, USA
    July 2018

    I’m so glad I got to come back to see you all, you guys are the best!

    Dear Alta Vista Staff, I’m so glad I got to come back to see you all, you guys are the best! I love the villas and this place sooo much. Chef Made, your food is the BEST ever! And thank you Aunty Dewi and Aunty Ayu for being so nice and hospitable. Also Uncle Jayadi, I’m so glad to have met you. But anyway, this is the best place ever and you all make it 10X more amazing! I’ll miss you guys and hope to see you again!!
    TFT
    Luxembourg
    July 2018

    I must say what an excellent experience

    Dear Alta Vista, I must say what an excellent experience, wonderful charming staff, great rooms and a really cool (but heated!) pool to boot. My time in Bali has only been improved while staying here and I hope to return soon. PS: the bath was excellent!
    JT
    New York, USA
    July 2018

    Your staff and vistas are heaven on earth!

    Dear Alta Vista, Your staff and vistas are heaven on earth! Jayadi was so welcoming, Dewi so cute and helpful and Top Chef Made made the best food in Asia I have tasted, especially the Pumpkin soup. The staff are superb, the rooms are luxurious and 6-star quality. Sunsets on the tree house were beautiful, pool was perfect temperature, masseuses excellent. When can I come back to North Bali and Alta Vista? Not soon enough! Many thanks!
    CKT
    Virginia, USA
    July 2018

    It was a marvellous and magnificent experience to be so well treated.

    It was a marvellous and magnificent experience to be so well treated. In fact my family and I were thoroughly spoiled! The bed was feather-soft, the villa bungalows were very beautiful, your staff were fantastic and the food prepared by your chef was very fine indeed. Many thanks for everything!
    W and family
    Switzerland
    July 2018

    A perfect holiday getaway!

    Amazing! Awesome! The service and attention from the manager, the butlers, the chef and everyone else made us feel so welcomed and honoured. We were so warmly received upon arrival and the manager even lined up all the staff to introduce themselves to us & let us know their various roles. Indeed we were treated like royalty with the staff always striving to anticipate our needs and going the 'extra mile'. We loved the delicious food specially prepared by the smiling chef! We loved the massages specially arranged at the top of the villa at the tree-house for us to enjoy the magnificent view. Masseurs were great! The villa rooms were spacious & well designed. My wife liked the amenities & the many mirrors. The jacuzzi and infinity pool really added to the nice resort feel. I love the spectacular view from there and from the villa balcony. A truly remarkable place for those seeking peace, tranquility & 'me time'. Will recommend to my friends & looking forward to staying here again soon. Thank you all for making it a perfect holiday getaway for us. Cheers!

    DL
    Singapore
    May 2018

    Tripadvisor Review: Our Anniversary Stay in Bali

    Alta Vista is up north & the drive is less than 3 hours from the Airport. These private villas are brand new, modern & well stocked with luxurious toiletries. I can tell you that The mattress is definitely better than the heavenly bed in Westin Hotels. Being high up in the mountains, we have a panoramic view of the lake & town area & the weather was a cool 22 degrees in the day & falls to 17 at night. We slept without the aircon during our stay. Been to bali more than 10 times but didn't know that cool mountain places exist coz ubud is considered warm by comparison. This place is much like a luxurious residence with a heated pool & jacuzzi & personalised service throughout. The lobby is an open living area just next to the dining table. The team that runs this Villa concept consists of a Caring Manger, a very experienced Chef, helpful Butlers, friendly Gardeners and alert security staff. The staff are so genuinely happy in their jobs that it shows in their service. I was down with a bad cough during our stay & ran out of medication & The Manager offered to drive us to the Doctor. Now the doctor is like 20 mins away & it was at night so we were really impressed by his concern. Food was delicious ( the freshly squeezed juice is a must) & we ate most of our meals in the dining room & stayed mostly in the villa during our 3 days there. We had massages every day & it was so relaxing that I personally recommend anyone who wants to have a quiet break to stay here as it is unlike staying in a hotel. Very homely with top notch service & quality. All the staff came by to say goodbye on our departure, we felt like royalty.

    Singaporescreen
    Singapore
    May 2018

    We loved our stay at Alta Vista.

    We loved our stay at Alta Vista. Although we walked in quite late, we were welcomed and our host made us feel like home. The food was delicious, especially the copious breakfast. Also loved the pool and the views. Finally, well done for the planning and construction of the resort. It is obvious that a lot of thought went into every detail and quality can be felt everywhere. We will be back!
    G & O
    France, Mongolia
    March 2018

    The rest I was really looking forward to on this trip.

    The rest I was really looking forward to on this trip. Not only were the views spectacular and the rooms lovely, but the food was to die for and the people were all very warm and sweet. My favourite memories that I’ll be (sadly) taking away are definitely the amazing constellation views and roasting marshmallows over the open fire pit. Had a great time with my family and am really thankful for the time I got to spend with them and friends here. The Jacuzzi was a missed opportunity (damn you, cold!) and something I definitely hope on trying one day!!
    GG
    Singapore
    March 2018

    The last hideway from the heat and buzz of Bali!

    The last hideway from the heat and buzz of Bali! If you want to get away from it all, yet be in a place which has been so thoughtfully designed, then Alta Vista is the place. We have fallen in love once again with the other Bali. Thank you for this very precious time away from everything – to be surrounded by beauty. Loved the food, love the massages, loved the villa, the heated pool and the mesmerizing fire. Thank you dear staff and management for such an unforgettable and special stay. A paradise in the clouds
    AF
    Singapore
    March 2018

    Alta Vista proves that Bali is not just about sun and sand

    Alta Vista proves that Bali is not just about sun and sand, or touts trying to get you to another dance put on for tourists. It is the perfect replacement for the now not-so-cool Cameron Highlands and Fraser’s Hill – the longed-for cool retreat for those in the region who need respite from the crowds and the heat!
    EKG
    Singapore
    March 2018

    So many good things to say!

    1. Lovely views. I had a swim on the last morning – warm water, cool breeze, bright sun!
    2. Nice weather. Unlike other places in Bali which are warm, it is cool up here.
    3. Private, safe and sound
    4. I say again, the people here are FANTASTIC!
    5. I almost forgot – we enjoyed the massages here. Had one everyday!
    LL
    Singapore
    March 2018

    Home away from home!

    My wife and I spend most of our anniversaries on a trip. On this stay, we really had a wonderful time. We didn’t expect the cool weather when we arrived at the car porch. Then there were smiles from the staff greeting us into the compound. The ever pleasant service never stopped for the days to come! We have to say this is one of our better stays. The smiles were genuine and heartfelt. They are so sincere. We felt more like at home than in a hotel. Pak Made was ever so kind to drive us to see a doctor when my wife was suffering from a bad throat. He was so concerned for her well-being. The food was very thought out by the chef. He made sure we were not hungry any time of the day! As it was our anniversary, the staff prepared a special welcome for us. They upgraded us to the suite villa! The bed was beautifully decorated with 2 white swans and lots of red petals. So was the bathtub. The weather was cool, although wet at moments. This is nice place to relax and pamper the soul. Would I come back again? You bet! Hopefully with my 2 boys and some close friends or family members. We would like to thank Pak Made, the chef and all the staff for making us feel at home, safe and welcome. Thank you for the wine too! It is the people who make the difference!
    JL
    Singapore
    March 2018

    This special hideaway in the Bedugul mountains

    This special hideaway in the Bedugul mountains gave us an experience of Bali so far unknown. The location is offering many facets to a relaxed sojourn, Pak Made and his team topped it all up with great hospitality. I felt very well taken care of. So I say sampai bertemu lagi.
    TJ
    Netherlands
    March 2018

    Have been looking for a place to escape

    Have been looking for a place to escape to in the mountain from our seaside living. We had such a wonderful time with everyone taking such good care of us. Will recommend to our famiy and friends.
    WWR
    Sanur Bali
    March 2018

    The villas are very well appointed

    Dear Staff of Alta Vista, this is the second time we’ve stayed in Alta Vista and we have again thoroughly enjoyed your friendly service and your warm hospitality. The villas are very well appointed, allowing us a very restful and enjoyable stay. Thank you and we look forward to returning again soon! PVDS
    PVDS
    Netherlands
    February 2018

    I enjoyed all of your service and breakfast,

    Dear Alta Vista staff, I enjoyed all of your service and breakfast, lunch and dinner. Love.
    AVDS (age 8)
    Singapore
    February 2018

    An absolute treasure in North Bali!

    An absolute treasure in North Bali! Alta Vista is a gem of a property with breathtaking views, very thoughtfully designed villas and shared spaces, pleasant staff and yummy food. The beautiful and tranquil surrounds, well appointed villa, cool weather and Sudi’s massages made this one of my most relaxing stays in Bali. We will definitely be back for more of this wonderful slice of paradise. Thank you for your warm hospitality. We enjoyed dining and exploring North Bali with you. Appreciation to the team who run Alta Vista with such grace and efficiency.
    FRA
    Singapore
    February 2018

    Beautiful views!

    Beautiful views! Amazing staff and delicious food! Can’t wait to come back!
    SA
    Singapore
    February 2018

    What a beautiful place Villa Alta Vista is!

    What a beautiful place Villa Alta Vista is! From the moment we arrived, Pak Jayadi and his wonderful staff greeted us with warmth and joy. We were made to feel at home straightaway. The villa area has such a peaceful feel to it and the fog makes it all quite mystical. Inside our villa it was perfect and every thoughtful detail had been attended to. Our food was so delicious – thank you Pak Made for looking after us. We love North Bali and you have made our first time here fantastic.
    RR
    Australian, living in Canggu Bali
    January 2018

    This is one of the best villas I have ever stayed at!

    This is one of the best villas I have ever stayed at! The minute I arrived I felt so welcome and everyone made me feel like home. The service here is amazing and everyone is so nice and happy. The food is delicious, so thank you Chef Made! I will miss everyone here and the villa and can’t wait to stay here again one day!
    IN (age 11)
    Australian, living in Canggu Bali
    January 2018

    Dear Staff, I love it here so much, I am going to miss you all.

    Dear Staff, I love it here so much, I am going to miss you all. We are going to come again, so I am happy. I loved our stay a lot and the room was AMAZING. Love from,
    NE (age 7)
    Australian, living in Canggu Bali
    January 2018

    Dear Alta Vista Staff, I loved our stay here so much.

    Dear Alta Vista Staff, I loved our stay here so much. You are all so nice. I loved the room! We have to come again!! Love from,
    IS (age 9)
    Australian, living in Canggu Bali
    January 2018

    Tripadvisor Review: Stunning location & friendly service

    We stumbled on Alta Vista when we visited the highlands of Northern Bali. The property has stunning views all the way towards the Bali sea and Eastern Java and is situated in a very peaceful and tranquil location. The villas were spacious and very comfortable with all amenities that you can expect in a luxury villa. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any queries. Many things to do in the surrounding area, including hiking, mountain biking and sightseeing. We thoroughly our 3 days stay and would warmly recommend it.
    Rollerexplorer
    December 2017

    Thank you to all the staff.

    Thank you to all the staff. I am very happy with the friendly and wonderful service extended to us. Hopefully we will see you again in the summer next year.
    NEJB
    Singapore
    November 2017

    Tripadvisor Review: Far from the madding crowd!

    Villa Alta Vista is the place to go to if you are in search of a vacation in a restful, tranquil setting, away from the crowds. You will be totally pampered by the staff and the meals are delicious. Each villa is spacious, well-equipped and very comfortable. Given that Alta Vista is quite a bit above sea level, the pool is heated and is fabulous to swim in. If you are into views, Alta Vista has them too; in particular, I enjoyed the sunset every evening. If you want to do some sight-seeing, the management can arrange for transport to drive you to nearby places of interest. I was driven to, among other places, a site where there was a panoramic view of terraced padi fields. Also did a simple hike to see a waterfall. Along the roads, there were many fields covered in various hues of blue -- these were hydrangea plants that were in full bloom in the nurseries at that time. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

    NorthCreek
    Singapore
    September 2017

    Alta Vista: A taste of paradise.

    Alta Vista: A taste of paradise. So beautiful, so serene. Thank you very much to my hosts and to all the staff members who pampered me for the few days I was lucky enough to spend here. All my best wishes for the future.
    SML
    Singapore
    September 2017

    What an incredible villa

    Dear Owners, Management and Staff of Alta Vista: What an incredible villa – “top of the world” views, peace and solitude, fresh cool breezes. All the best for a wonderful launch and much success for the future. Many thanks for everything.
    RL
    Singapore
    August 2017

    Tripadvisor Review: Tip top villa far from the maddening crowd

    I stayed at Atlavista for 3 nights with family and friends as an add-on to 3 nights in south Bali since I had never stayed in the north before and wanted to get to know another side of the island - far from the maddening crowd which has changed the south so much in recent years.

    My first stay in the north was not a disappointment - this is untouched Bali as it was 20 years ago (when I first visited) with village life intact, less commercial glitter and the innate charm and friendliness of the Balinese shining through.

    There is enough to do to warrant a trip up north - waterfalls and lakes, spectacular rice terraces and deserted beaches (Altavista is only a 45 minute drive from the north coast). But this was mainly a great place to rest and rejuvenate in the fresh, clean mountain air.

    Altavista itself is a brand new property which for the first time brings the highest villa standards to north Bali. On a spacious plot of land at the very peak of a ridge, the property has views on a clear day all the way to the north coast. You really feel like you are living in the clouds (which you are quite a bit of the time as it does get cloudy and wet here more often than in the south). The weather is however very changeable and during our 3 day stay each day had a good few hours of sunny crisp weather.

    Altavista's facilities cannot be faulted. Each bedroom suite is in its own bungalow building which means lots of privacy and space. Some of the pavilions are located down a ramp which might cause problems for elderly visitors, however 2 rooms are more accessible and my 77-year old mother had no problems.

    Service was friendly, personal and with lots of smiles and food was good, although less sophisticated than in villas in south Bali. For a family holiday this was ideal as the staff were incredibly accommodating to our flexible meal times and requests.

    For me, the only real downside of Altavista was the journey there - from Ubud it took us more than 2 hours, although journey time varies a lot depending on traffic. When planning a trip to Altavista I would discuss transfer plans carefully with the villa management to plan smooth transfers. But once you get there and slide into the slower rhythm of north Bali it's well worth the effort.

    How to Book?

    Click here to go directly to the Bookings page to choose your dates and your rooming requirements.

    Book Now

    Contact us

    Click here to be brought to the Enquires page where you can put your questions to the villa management.

    Contact